How to find the Teradata Process Id (TDPID) under Windows

I was recently trying to connect to my local Teradata instance via the BTEQ (Basic Teradata Query) command-line tool and ran into a problem trying to login. I usually use the Teradata SQL Assistant GUI based tool, so I don’t need to do this very often.

The command to login while in BTEQ is:

.logon [TDPID]/[username]

But how do you know the value of TDPID? Well, if you’re running Teradata and you’re logged into the computer it’s installed on, you can follow these steps:

  1. Open up Teradata Service Control.
  2. Choose the “Advanced Setup” menu option.
  3. On the dialog box, click the “Edit Hosts” button. This will open your local hosts file in an editor (probably notepad).
  4. Look for an entry that looks like this:
    127.0.0.1 localhost localtdcop1.
    You’re TDPID is the part of the string before “cop1”, so here it’s “localtd”.



This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Web Development. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to find the Teradata Process Id (TDPID) under Windows

  1. murali says:

    Thank you the information given above helped me allot.

  2. Dante says:

    i don’t have anything ending with cop1 in my hosts . I just have this

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    • squdgy says:

      Dante, I’m afraid I left the job where I worked with Teradata, so I can’t tell you where to find the process id anymore, but you could try localtd. If you have a local install of Teradata Express 12, like I did, that was the default process id. This post was based off of Teradata 12, so they may have changed this with Teradata 13.

Leave a Reply

